Ric Flair had three official reigns as the National Wrestling Alliance’s touring world champion from 1981-85 until Carolinas-based Jim Crockett Promotions put an exclusive on the title (and Flair). This tweet from the brilliant @Super70sSports sums up Flair’s approach during that era perfectly:

That's exactly how it was. I can attest personally.

BTW, there are only three NWA touring world champions left: Flair and the Funk brothers, Dory Jr. and Terry. Each is an all-time great and a treasure to wrestling.

Thumbnail Courtesy of Getty Images.

105.9 The X · Radio Home of the Pittsburgh Penguins

Listen Now on iHeartRadio

outbrain pixel