Mark Madden

Mark Madden

The Super Genius of Pittsburgh Sports.Full Bio



The Toronto Maple Leafs haven’t won a Stanley Cup since 1967.

The Philadelphia Flyers haven’t won a Stanley Cup since 1975.

The New York Rangers have won one Stanley Cup since 1940.

In 2019, St. Louis won its first Stanley Cup since joining the NHL in 1967.

In 2018, Washington won its first Stanley Cup since joining the NHL in 1974.

Buffalo, Vancouver, Arizona, San Jose, Ottawa, Florida, Nashville, Winnipeg, Columbus, Minnesota and Vegas have never won the Stanley Cup.

The Penguins have won five Stanley Cups. That includes three in their last 12 seasons, including back-to-back in 2016 and ’17. Those teams are the only back-to-back winners in the NHL’s salary cap era. Jim Rutherford is the GM who assembled those teams.

But Rutherford has suddenly lost his mind, right? I’m sure the management of a team that hasn’t won a playoff series since 2004 fleeced him badly in the Kasperi Kapanen deal.

Weren’t the Leafs supposed to turn a corner after signing hometown superstar John Tavares in 2018? They should have signed a defenseman or two instead.

For my detailed take on the reacquisition of Kapanen from Toronto, click HERE.

The Pirates haven’t won a playoff series since 1979.Nothing can fix the Pirates. (They got no-hit last night, BTW.)

The Steelers have won three playoff games in nine years.How come you don’t want the Steelers to fire anybody?

The Penguins give you the most. When it comes to benefit of the doubt, you give them the least.

No team wins forever. Decline can’t always be halted by management. Detroit, Chicago and the Los Angeles Kings won Cups, then dwindled. Perhaps that’s happening now to the Penguins. If it is, it’s nobody’s fault. They made the most of their window, or pretty close.

Rutherford has three Cups and he’s in the Hockey Hall of Fame. Did that happen by accident?

Via Getty Images

Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content

105.9 The X Podcasts

See All