Mark Madden

Mark Madden

The Super Genius of Pittsburgh Sports.Full Bio



Sidney Crosby is not a finalist for the 2020-21 Frank J. Selke Trophy, awarded annually to the NHL’s best defensive forward. 

The finalists are Florida’s Aleksander Barkov, Boston’s Patrice Bergeron and Vegas’ Mark Stone. 

Crosby should have won the Selke several times by now. His 200-foot game is unmatched in NHL history. 

But I’m hardly outraged. 

The Selke is beneath Crosby. 

The Selke is a consolation prize for players not good enough to win real awards – like Barkov, Bergeron and Stone. 

Bergeron is a great player, and a winner. But he’s not in a class with Crosby. 

The biggest award Bergeron has got is the Selke – which he’s won four times. 

Crosby has won two NHL MVPs, two playoff MVPs, two scoring titles and two "Rocket" Richard trophies as the NHL’s top goal-scorer. 

Crosby is a four-time first-team NHL All-Star. Bergeron has never even been second-team. 

If you’re Crosby, who cares about the Selke? That’s the NHL’s equivalent of Miss Congeniality. 

Courtesy of Getty Images

Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content

105.9 The X Podcasts

See All