Mark Madden

Mark Madden

The Super Genius of Pittsburgh Sports.Full Bio



Tom Brady and Ben Roethlisberger retired within days of each other, spurring discussion over whether Brady and Roethlisberger both being eligible for the Pro Football Hall of Fame in 2027 will keep Roethlisberger from being a first-ballot inductee. 

It seems a baseless conversation. 

Two quarterbacks have been inducted in the same year before, most recently Brett Favre and Ken Stabler in 2016. Troy Aikman and Warren Moon both entered in 2006. Maybe the best example is Joe Namath and Roger Staubach in 1985. 

It doesn’t happen often, but it will likely happen with Brady and Roethlisberger. 

One thing is a guarantee: When Brady retired, it meant that Aaron Rodgers would play another season. 

There’s no way Rodgers’ ego would allow him to share the stage at Canton with Brady. 

If Rodgers did retire, it would be interesting to see if Brady, Rodgers and Roethlisberger all went in the Hall of Fame together. That might be overkill. 

The Hall should waive Brady’s five-year waiting period and induct him immediately. Brady’s performance merits that distinction. 

Photo: Getty Images

Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content

105.9 The X Podcasts

See All